Canem Systems.
Contractors that care.

At Canem Systems we use the latest prefabrication and
project management technologies to ensure we deliver
our projects on time with a calibre of excellence you can trust.
We’re the electrical contractors you can count on to do the job right,
because we’ve been putting relationships first for nearly 60 years.

Our Mission

To bring integrity and care to the construction and service industry.


Our Vision

Building communities across Canada for our customers, employees and stakeholders.

Our Values

Honouring Our Word
Integrity. Fairness. Honesty. Accountability. Respect.

Going Above and Beyond
Proactive. All In. Whatever It Takes. Excellence. Execution.

Working Safe and Smart
Productive. Effective. Innovative. Streamlining Processes.
Doing More with Less.

Giving Back to Our Communities
Local Roots. National Presence.

Putting Relationships First
Loyal. Committed. Enduring. Communication.


Canem Cares Program

At Canem, we walk the walk.

Throughout Canada – in each of our branch offices – we give back through a wide array of neighbourhood programs.

Canem Care Spotlight
Highlighted Project 2017 – Calgary Food Bank Donation

Check with your local Canem office for a community initiative near you.

A Message From Our President

I’m very excited to greet all of you who are first time visitors to Canem’s new website.
Our new logo, visuals, and tagline are representative of both a new Canem and a
Canem that is back to its roots as a premier electrical contractor – and soon to be a
multi-trade contractor with the re-addition of a mechanical offering. .

READ MORE HERE. >

Indeed, Canem was born a multi-trade company almost 60 years ago as CANadian Electrical and Mechanical, and our shared goal is to re-establish that which has made us a top tier contractor to the Commercial Construction and Services industry.

What is that?  Our strength = our people and their ability to build relationships with our customers and industry partners to clearly identify their needs and take care to deliver on those needs with best in class design, pre-planning and prefabrication processes and technologies.  This is not a new concept, but Canem does this better than any other electrical contractor out there and has for a long time, as Canem was the first electrical contractor in Canada to use estimating software.  Taking care to deliver on our customers’ needs, honouring our relationships – before, during and after the job is done –  is what makes us a preferred electrical contractor right now, and will make us a preferred multi-trade contractor down the road.

That’s why I’m also pleased that during the last year we’ve brought our Contractors That Care attitude to a wider Canadian market.  Canem has expanded into Ontario and will be opening its newest Regional Branch office in Cambridge, offering design, pre-planning and prefabrication construction services to south and south-western Ontario customers from Windsor to Niagara Region.  Look for our industry soiree branch grand opening announcement soon.

And finally, I’m very proud to be a part of the Canem team.  Since I took on the President’s role, I’ve had the pleasure of visiting all our branch locations across Western Canada multiple times.  A big thank you to all Canem employees for welcoming me into the legacy we’re continuing to build together.

Sincerely,
John Krill, P.Eng., MBA
President and COO

Leadership Team

Corporate Office

John Krill
President and COO
jkrill@canem.com

Doug Hale
Executive Vice President,
Construction Services
dhale@canem.com

Jeff Luccock
Vice President,
Finance and Information Services
jluccock@canem.com

Julie Lee
Director,
Human Resources and Strategic Change
jlee@canem.com

Bill Oulton
Director, Operational Risk
boulton@canem.com

Neil Moffatt
Director,
Health, Safety and Environment
nmoffatt@canem.com

Alec Chan
Senior Manager, Supply Chain Management
achan@canem.com

Daren Gallagher
Estimating Manager
dgallagher@canem.com

Branch Offices

British Columbia

Vancouver

Brendan Kelly
Branch Manager, Vancouver
bkelly@canem.com

Dustin Christensen
Construction Manager, Vancouver
dchristensen@canem.com

Rick Friesen
Service Manager, Vancouver
rfriesen@canem.com

Vancouver Island

Dale Risvold
Branch Manager, Vancouver Island
drisvold@canem.com

Russ Edgson
Service Manager, Victoria
redgson@canem.com

Tyler Carson
Operations Manager, Nanaimo
tcarson@canem.com

Alberta

Southern Alberta

Andy Carr
Regional Vice President, Southern Alberta
acarr@canem.com

Colin Barclay
Branch Manager, Southern Alberta
cbarclay@canem.com

Mark Volf
Construction Manager, Calgary
mvolf@canem.com

Joe Niosi
Service Manager, Calgary
jniosi@canem.com

James Hannett
Operations Manager, Red Deer
jhannett@canem.com

Shawn Pasemko
Operations Manager, Lethbridge
spasemko@canem.com

Northern Alberta

Brett Harke
Branch Manager, Edmonton
bharke@canem.com

Wally Hamming
Construction Manager, Edmonton
whamming@canem.com

Saskatchewan

Rick Bzdel
Branch Manager, Saskatoon
rbzdel@canem.com

Manitoba

Ken Smith
Branch Manager, Winnipeg
ksmith@mccaine.com

Steven Eyolfson
Construction Manager, Winnipeg
seyolfson@mccaine.com

Hayley Schubert
Operations Manager, Winnipeg
hschubert@mccaine.com

Ontario

Darryl Matlo,
Regional Vice President, Ontario and Manitoba
dmatlo@canem.com

Peter Brodimas
Operations Manager
pbrodimas@canem.com

National

Brian Van Herk
Manager of Roll Out Services
bvanherk@canem.com

Marc Remillard
National Security Manager
mremillard@canem.com

Our Story

Since our founding as an electrical contracting firm in Vancouver in 1960 (that’s 58 years and counting!), we’ve been meeting our customer’s needs through innovative and collaborative work.

We were the first private company in Canada to have computerized estimating.

We have an Integrated Project Delivery process which results in reduced waste and maximized efficiency.

We’re at the forefront of current construction practices that create high-performance, sustainable buildings.

No wonder that Canem has served as a partner in many of Canada’s most prestigious and important building projects.

With a current workforce of over 1,200 people and offices in Calgary, Cambridge, Edmonton, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Vancouver, Vancouver Island and a National Roll Out Services office, we have built up our electrical contracting capacity to support virtually any size or type of installation across Western Canada.

Staying true to our roots, the company retains the flexibility to competitively serve even the smallest clients with the same interests and efficiency as large projects.

Innovation has enabled Canem to thrive for 58 years. We continue to embrace innovation, which means we’ll be around as a trusted partner for another 58 years.

 

Careers

Nearly six decades of success. More than 1,200 current employees.

We must be doing something right.

If you’re a dynamic, talented individual with ‘electricity’ running through
your veins, we invite you to apply to the opportunities below.


Current Opportunities

Join the team today!

Our Philosophy?
People First!

Training. Mentoring. Incentives.
A ladder to the career for you.

LEARN MORE HERE. >

Canem is a progressive and growing Canadian electrical, data, communication, and building optimization provider. We invite you to take part in our exciting team and grow your career with us.

With over 50 years of expertise in its field, Canem has realized extraordinary expansion, innovation and advances due to its unwavering commitment to providing expert, world-class services while utilizing the most advanced technologies.

We offer generous compensation programs and performance driven incentives to reward our people.

If you are a motivated team player and want to work with a dynamic group of professionals, please send your résumé in confidence to Human Resources via email to: careers@canem.com. Please do not fax or mail your applications.

go to the top