Canem Systems.
Contractors that care.

At Canem Systems we use the latest prefabrication and
project management technologies to ensure we deliver
our projects on time with a calibre of excellence you can trust.
We’re the electrical contractors you can count on to do the job right,
because we’ve been putting relationships first for nearly 60 years.

Our Mission

To bring integrity and care to the construction and service industry.


Our Vision

Building communities across Canada for our customers, employees and stakeholders.

Our Values

Honouring Our Word
Integrity. Fairness. Honesty. Accountability. Respect.

Going Above and Beyond
Proactive. All In. Whatever It Takes. Excellence. Execution.

Working Safe and Smart
Productive. Effective. Innovative. Streamlining Processes.
Doing More with Less.

Giving Back to Our Communities
Local Roots. National Presence.

Putting Relationships First
Loyal. Committed. Enduring. Communication.


Canem Cares Program

At Canem, we walk the walk.

Throughout Canada – in each of our branch offices – we give back through a wide array of neighbourhood programs.

Canem Care Spotlight
Highlighted Project 2017 – Calgary Food Bank Donation

Check with your local Canem office for a community initiative near you.

A Message From Our President

A MESSAGE FROM OUR PRESIDENT

Canem serves the Canadian Commercial and Services industry as one of the top trade contractors in the country and our customers remain our top priority. I am filled with pride over how our team consistently delivers quality customer service. The foundation of Canem’s business has and always will be, our relationships – with our customers and our industry partners. 

READ MORE HERE >

To further our commitment to deliver quality service, we’ve expanded into Ontario with a fully functioning Pre-fab Shop and Regional Office in Cambridge. This expansion allows us to offer our services of design, pre-planning and prefabrication processes and technologies, to a wider clientele, increasing our presence across Canada.

Canem’s solid Contractors that Care philosophy allows us to share our passion for our work and our people who deliver it, with a broader market. We are thrilled at the opportunities this extension of our footprint provides to our team and our customers. Also it’s worth noting that while our parent company has recently been acquired, this does not impact our operations – it is in fact, business as usual for all Canem stakeholders.

Canem was originally known as CANadian Electrical and Mechanical, formed over 60 years ago, and the goal then is no different than our goal now – take care of our customers and provide high-quality service. We were the first electrical contractor in Canada to use estimating software and this echoes our commitment to offer innovative and efficient solutions for our clients. We will continue building our business with our principles of high-quality service delivery to our customers at the forefront. 

It goes without saying that I am amazed at the resiliency and work ethic of each one of our Canem employees. Our recent global challenges have allowed us to collaborate in ways that we never have before, and I am eager to take this innovation and quick-thinking into the future.

Thank you to everyone for staying committed and continuing to build our legacy, together.

Sincerely,
John Krill
President and COO

Leadership Team

Corporate Office

John Krill
President and COO
jkrill@canem.com

Julie Lee
Director,
Human Resources and Strategic Change
jlee@canem.com

Kevin Wong
Director, Finance
kwong@canem.com

Bill Oulton
Director, Corporate Services
boulton@canem.com

Neil Moffatt
Director,
Health, Safety and Environment
nmoffatt@canem.com

Daren Gallagher
Estimating Manager
dgallagher@canem.com

Branch Offices

British Columbia

Vancouver

Brendan Kelly
Regional Vice President, British Columbia and Southern Alberta
bkelly@canem.com

Dustin Christensen
Branch Manager, Vancouver
dchristensen@canem.com

Tony Smith
Construction Manager, Vancouver
tsmith@canem.com

Vancouver Island

Dale Risvold
Branch Manager, Vancouver Island
drisvold@canem.com

Russ Edgson
Operations Manager, Victoria
redgson@canem.com

Tyler Carson
Operations Manager, Nanaimo
tcarson@canem.com

Alberta

Southern Alberta

Brendan Kelly
Regional Vice President, British Columbia and Southern Alberta
bkelly@canem.com

Mark Volf
Construction Manager, Calgary
mvolf@canem.com

Joe Niosi
Service Manager, Calgary
jniosi@canem.com

Lori Nowlan
Operations Manager
lnowlan@canem.com

James Hannett
Operations Manager, Red Deer
jhannett@canem.com

Shawn Pasemko
Operations Manager, Lethbridge
spasemko@canem.com

Northern Alberta

Darryl Matlo,
Regional Vice President, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Northern Alberta
dmatlo@canem.com

Brett Harke
Branch Manager, Edmonton
bharke@canem.com

Wally Hamming
Construction Manager, Edmonton
whamming@canem.com

Saskatchewan

Darryl Matlo,
Regional Vice President, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Northern Alberta
dmatlo@canem.com

Brett Harke
Branch Manager, Edmonton and Saskatoon
bharke@canem.com

Manitoba

Ken Smith
Branch Manager, Winnipeg
ksmith@mccaine.com

Steven Eyolfson
Construction Manager, Winnipeg
seyolfson@mccaine.com

Hayley Schubert
Operations Manager, Winnipeg
hschubert@mccaine.com

Ontario

Darryl Matlo,
Regional Vice President, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Northern Alberta
dmatlo@canem.com

Peter Brodimas
Branch Manager
pbrodimas@canem.com

National

Brian Van Herk
Manager of Roll Out Services
bvanherk@canem.com

Marc Remillard
National Security Manager
mremillard@canem.com

Our Story

Since our founding as an electrical contracting firm in Vancouver in 1960 (that’s 58 years and counting!), we’ve been meeting our customer’s needs through innovative and collaborative work.

We were the first private company in Canada to have computerized estimating.

We have an Integrated Project Delivery process which results in reduced waste and maximized efficiency.

We’re at the forefront of current construction practices that create high-performance, sustainable buildings.

No wonder that Canem has served as a partner in many of Canada’s most prestigious and important building projects.

With a current workforce of over 1,200 people and offices in Calgary, Cambridge, Edmonton, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Vancouver, Vancouver Island and a National Roll Out Services office, we have built up our electrical contracting capacity to support virtually any size or type of installation across Western Canada.

Staying true to our roots, the company retains the flexibility to competitively serve even the smallest clients with the same interests and efficiency as large projects.

Innovation has enabled Canem to thrive for 58 years. We continue to embrace innovation, which means we’ll be around as a trusted partner for another 58 years.

 

Careers

Nearly six decades of success. More than 1,200 current employees.

We must be doing something right.

If you’re a dynamic, talented individual with ‘electricity’ running through
your veins, we invite you to apply to the opportunities below.


Current Opportunities

Join the team today!

Our Philosophy?
People First!

Training. Mentoring. Incentives.
A ladder to the career for you.

LEARN MORE HERE. >

Canem is a progressive and growing Canadian electrical, data, communication, and building optimization provider. We invite you to take part in our exciting team and grow your career with us.

With over 50 years of expertise in its field, Canem has realized extraordinary expansion, innovation and advances due to its unwavering commitment to providing expert, world-class services while utilizing the most advanced technologies.

We offer generous compensation programs and performance driven incentives to reward our people.

If you are a motivated team player and want to work with a dynamic group of professionals, please send your résumé in confidence to Human Resources via email to: careers@canem.com. Please do not fax or mail your applications.

go to the top